Expressions of interest for COE 2017 have now closed.

Awards announced at the Annual Scientific Meeting, Perth, August 2017.

A PDF copy of the current COE standards can be found below, however no further applications will be accepted in 2017.

COE criteria 2017

The NADC Accreditation standards have been developed to establish a robust national standard for Diabetes Centres that demonstrates that they operate as Centres of Excellence (COE) in diabetes care.

These standards are underpinned by the principles of chronic disease management. These include a multidisciplinary approach with an effective system of service delivery, integration and co-ordination of care between different services and service providers, support for self-management, evidence-based decision making and clinical information systems, with the focus being on proactive maintenance of good health and complication prevention. Diabetes Centres of Excellence also actively bridge the gap between the acute care hospital system and the care provided by primary care and community services.

The Centres of Excellence application process is all-encompassing and includes assessment that is in-depth and sophisticated. Therefore the process should be a team-based application process. Applications for COE’s are only open for a limited period every 2 years. Accreditation as a Centre of Excellence will be awarded for a period of 4 years, after which time, reapplication is required to retain COE status. Organisations applying for Centre of Excellence status need to be already accredited under the standard NADC accreditation system prior to their submission.

The NADC Accreditation Standards for Centres of Excellence recognise clinical, education, service advocacy and policy leadership on a national scale in the provision of diabetes care.



Royal Melbourne Hospital Department of Diabetes and Endocrinology

At the 2018 Australasian Diabetes Congress a we heard about the benefits of Centre of Excellence accreditation from the Royal Melboure. Access this presentation below:

Accreditation – A Centre of Excellence’s experience – Spiros Fourlanos


Monash Health

Monash Health

Royal Prince Alfred


Canberra Hospital


Princess Margaret